Changing Seasons and Growing Artists

Hello!
As we usher in cooler temperatures and the Holiday Season, our little Voyager Artists are exploring even more subjects, vocabulary and types of artistic media.

Our younger students have been working on basic drawing skills, continuing the use of Line and Shape to create compositions. Most recently, we have been discussing how artists use different kinds of colors to express themselves. Fall is a great time to explore Warm Colors and we have been doing just that. This week, we will finish a very precious Autumn Tree that I’m sure our Voyager Parents will enjoy.

Older students have been discussing the artwork of Vincent Van Gogh. We have discussed cool and warm colors and how artists use them together to create contrast and emphasis within an artwork. To exhibit this,  we are working on Fall Landscapes and our very first Still Life in the 3rd and 4th grade classes.

While it is important to me that our students understand the most effective ways to use media, I try my best to infuse a lot of personal expression in our lessons. For example, we may all be creating a vase of flowers. But, each vase will be different…each child will choose the types and colors of flowers he or she will include. In my opinion, this is how we create artists and not carbon copies of a teacher’s example. This is how we light the fire of creativity in our students. This is the time when they learn that Art is not only for the child who can draw just like the teacher. Art is for everyone and that is something we happily celebrate in our Voyager Art Class.

On a personal note, I would like to sincerely thank you all for the cards, thoughts and prayers in the last few weeks. I am a very proud cancer survivor and with that survival comes some health challenges that have kept me away from our classroom more than I would like. But, I am fortunate to be part of a school where the outpouring of love is never ending and your students and my fellow faculty have been nothing but supportive and encouraging. The community at Voyager is a beautiful artwork, in itself.

In the coming weeks before winter break, we will explore winter and Holiday themed artworks together. I look forward to each Tuesday I share with your students and I hope they are enjoying our time together, as well.

In Love and Peace,

Mrs. Slone

 

Leave a comment